Ready to delete Facebook?
– Log in to Facebook
– Navigate to https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account
– Confirm that you want to delete your account.
Here’s what Facebook says happens when you delete your account:
When you delete your account, people won’t be able to see it on Facebook. It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all of the things you’ve posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While we are deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.
Some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you delete your account. That information remains after you delete your account.
Facebook also says that you have a couple of delays to change your mind after placing a deletion request. You can cancel it by logging back in during that time, but your data is gone once the window closes.
Remember: After you do this you won’t be able to see anything that you’ve ever posted to Facebook, and you won’t be able to reactivate your account.