Getting blocked on Facebook is not fun for anyone, but if you also use Facebook for your small
business, getting blocked can take on a whole new dimension in terms of unnerving experiences.
Facebook makes the act of blocking someone a confidential matter and does not offer any tools to
help you discover if you have been blocked or not. Nevertheless, with a bit of detective work, you can
usually determine if you have been blocked. Remember that just because someone is no longer visible
in your list of friends does not necessarily mean you have been blocked. You may have been
“unfriended,” the person may have removed their account or Facebook may have suspended their
To determine if you’ve been blocked on Facebook by someone, do the following.
FB Block in Wall Posts
If you can spot any posts the person posted on your Facebook profile, business page or a mutual
friend’s page in the past, finding those posts now can indicate whether you’ve been blocked. If you
have been blocked, the wall posts will still be visible, nevertheless, his profile photo will be substituted
with a question mark. Additionally, the person’s name will be in black text and will no longer be a
clickable link to his profile page.
If someone has blocked you on Facebook, rather than simply discontinued your friendship, his name
will not show up in your account’s search results. Try entering the person’s name in the search field at
the top of your Facebook home page. If you didn’t see that person, you may have been blocked.
However, he may have simply changed his security settings to prevent anyone but friends from
searching for him. Try logging out of Facebook or toggling to your business account (click the arrow
in the upper right corner and select “Log In As”). Try searching for the person again. If the person is
not visible in a public search or from your business account, you may have been blocked. If the person
is visible in a public search, but not visible in a search from your personal account, you’ve been
Mutual Friend List
Mutual friends can be a good sign to see if you have been blocked. Go to the profile of someone who
was a mutual friend with the person you presume has blocked you. A list of some of her recent friends
is on their profile page. Select the “See All” link at the top of the list. A search field appears at the top
of the page, which you can use to enter the person’s name. If the person’s profile appears, you have
not been blocked. If it doesn’t appear, you may have been blocked. While few people have their friends
listed publicly if you can see such a person, try logging out of Facebook and looking at their list of
friends. If the person is visible there, but not when you were logged in, you have been
So far, all of the above methods are ways you can determine if you have been blocked without drawing
attention to yourself. To determine without a doubt if you have not been blocked, try sending a
Facebook message to the person. If you receive a reply, you have not been blocked. You can also
ask mutual friends if they have seen the person on Facebook recently. If no one has, the person may
have eliminated her account or may have been suspended from Facebook. Finally, you can ask your
friends, or the person directly, whether you have been blocked.
Ways to Determine Who Blocks You on Facebook