Limiting what friends can see is helpful when you want to hide certain things from some people, such as a relationship status or vacation photos.
Some content you share may be inappropriate for younger friends, certain family members or co-workers.
Each time you share something on your Facebook Timeline, there is an option to limit who can view it. There are also several options on the Facebook Privacy Settings page for controlling the default way things you post are shared.
Timeline and Tagging Privacy
1. Log in to your Facebook account and open the account menu by clicking the drop-down arrow at the top right of your Facebook homepage. Select “Privacy Settings.”
2. Limit which groups can view photos and status updates you post on your Timeline from Facebook apps without an available audience selector tool by clicking the “Custom” option in the “Control Your Default Privacy” section. This opens the Custom Privacy window.
3. Click the drop-down box in the “Make this visible to” section and select between “Everyone”, “Friends of Friends”, “Friends” or “Custom.” The “Custom” option lets you choose a specific list of people. If desired, list any specific people you want to hide the posts from in the “Hide this from” section. Click “Save Changes.”
4. Limit which groups can view things that friends post or tag on your Timeline by clicking “Edit Settings” next to the “Timeline and Tagging” option on the Privacy Settings page. This opens the Timeline and Tagging window.
5. Click the drop-down box next to “Who can see what others post on your timeline?” and select a sharing setting.
6. Click the drop-down box next to “Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your timeline?” and select a sharing setting.
7. Click “Done” to save your changes.
1. Click the “About” link on your Facebook Timeline.
2. Click the “Edit” button for one of the categories, such as “Relationships and Family.”
3. Click the drop-down arrow next to an entry to limit who can view the information. Options include “Public,” Friends,” “Only Me” and “Custom.”
4. Click the “Save” button to keep your changes.
1. Limit who can see what you post on your Timeline by clicking the audience selector tool next to the item you’re posting. The audience selector appears as a drop-down box with an icon and text showing the current sharing setting.
2. Select “Public,” “Friends,” “Only Me,” “Custom” or one of your lists from the drop-down box to change who can see your post.
3. Click the “Post” button.